Fortune knocks at least once on every man’s door.

Fortune knocks at least once on every man’s door.
Be sure to answer.

That’s what the fortune cookie reads.

I don’t really believe in fate, but I’m not prepared to ascribe certain things to ‘coincidence’ either. Is there such a thing as coincidence? I remember debating this with a friend of mine; we came to the conclusion that coincidences were events that happened but did not result in a ‘favourable’ outcome. A coincidence is considered to be an event that is random, but somehow linked to something else through pure chance. What I seem to remember of our discussions was that events that we attribute a “meant to be” factor to, are not coincidences.

You want a situation as a case study?

An example of a coincidence could be me having a premonition (or whatever you wish to call it) about holding someone’s hand and then meeting this wonderful woman, and holding her hand for five minutes later on in the day. Or some might say it “was meant to be”, seeing as the entire universe converged into a physical expression of my ‘premonition’. Or perhaps I am full of crap, and these things just ‘happened’.

Admittedly, I don’t really know how this relates to the fortune cookie, and its ‘prophecy’. I suppose from the moment you decide to take a quote or a motto or a statement about life seriously, you allow it to re-organise your thoughts and experiences.

In my case, I felt the switch from ‘this is adequate, I’m doing fine’ to ‘I need to do this, seeing as it is my chance to squeeze the marrow out of the bones of life’. This then led me to think that while carpe diem is a great ideology, it cannot be forced into everything. I feel there is an invisible line somewhere that dictates you can’t do that all the time, because at some point you would be forcing yourself to do that, and you wouldn’t be ‘you’ anymore.

Either way, you can push things along to some extent (without pushing your luck). So push it to the limit.

I could be wrong. But let’s drink to carpe diem anyhow, and forget about the ranting and raving.

Leave a Reply

