Back to basics

Well, Christmas has come and gone, and I haven’t written in days. I suppose on the inside I have been struggling between journalism, criticism, and creative writing.

When I started a blog, I had many stimuli and many frustrations to vent about everyday life; things I thought everyone would be able to relate to. Yet, starting to write as a journalist and as a critic (or well… a critic under construction), I lost a sense of what I wanted. Why would anyone want to read my ramblings about anything? That’s when I slipped into creative writing on the blog; just to keep it interesting. But then, every piece felt disjointed and disconnected from one day to the next.

So now I am back to square one. After more than 2 weeks of dormancy, I am just going to try to write. Something. Anything. Anything at all. No edits until after it is written, no planning out a story. It seems I have forgotten how to write because I was preoccupied with other things; I will have to just let it flow and see what happens. What better time to do this at than over the holidays?

Leave a Reply

