elegy

Sleep well, weary youth.
I am sorry to say I did not know you,
You
Who hastened to dine with immortal gods
And drink with forgotten heroes
At eternity’s rich table.

Sleep well, tired traveller.
I am sorry to say our paths never did cross
In our journeys across this fair earth.
But I know
In Ithaca we shall meet,
When my candles are spent.

Sleep well, exhausted explorer.
I am sorry to say we did not laugh together,
In company you and I
Did not make merry
And weep with mirth
At comic tales of luck and love.

Sleep well in rest divine,
While we here keep a vigilant eye.

I am sorry to say you will be missed,
By her most of all.

Sleep and you’ll see,
She will find her smile again,
While she regales this petty poet
With stories of you.
You
Who I have never known,
Yet weep for in secret sorrow.

Leave a Reply

