Writing exercise 9: More starting ploys [I remember]

[Another way of finding a voice is using the phrase I remember, then removing it when the piece is done]

[I remember…]

I put my glasses on the bedside table. I switched off the light. Then on because I thought I heard a dull thud. I saw something move out of the corner of my eye. Trying not to panic, I scrambled around for my glasses. They were right next to me when the room went dark, and now I couldn’t find them. There was to be no sleeping tonight…

Leave a Reply

