erasure

Apologies for disappearing for so long! I’ve been busy with various things – learning, gaming, going to the theatre, trying to be sociable… Today I decided to try my hand at erasure poetry (I only discovered its existence last week!). I’ve never done this before, and it was an incredibly speedy, rough edit on the computer, just to get into the swing of things. The following is the result of playing around with Shakespeare’s famous ‘To be or not to be’ speech, as featured on Open Source Shakespeare. (I’ve included the source text below it with the erased words struck through. And yes, I realise my poem doesn’t really make sense…)

To question:
’tis to suffer                                                                                                                     fortune
troubles,

end
heartache,
flesh a consummation .
sleep!
death dreams
respect
time,

life,
undiscover’d country
No will,
conscience                                                                                                                                 the native                                                                                                                       enterprise of
the action.Soft!
all my sins.

hamlet-erasure.PNG

 

Leave a Reply

