#CampNaNoWriMo July 2016: The depths

Somehow, I’ve signed up for my second Camp NaNoWriMo for this year. And of course, I discovered I lost the ‘winner’ banner I got for the April’s Camp (must have saved it somewhere though). No matter! I didn’t feel like I deserved that particular banner anyhow, because, at some point, I just gave up on my original story idea and surrendered to the more powerful call of my Medea story.  Well, this time, I’m going to try and follow through and actually finish something.

The good thing is, I won’t have any courses to deal with then, so I can focus exclusively on my writing. Well, I actually have one course – a teeny tiny Japanese philosophy course on Futurelearn- which I signed up for in January or February I think, but it doesn’t seem like a pile of work (unlike, say, my current courses). Not to say I can’t leave it if it gets too much but I get annoyed when I have to drop things. Also, who knows, it might inform some elements of the story!

So… I’ve decided I’m going to finish my Medea story.  I have a basic idea of where I want it to go, I just need to write it down and figure out how to connect the scenes/events I have in mind between them. I’ve listed it as a fantasy novel (but I doubt it’ll end up that long!) and titled it ‘The depths’. I borrowed part of the title from Maxim Gorki’s play, The lower depths, which I’ve not read yet – I probably should get round to it before I start the July camp. Also, dabbling in mythology is considered fantasy, right? 😛 We’ll see what happens… In any case, I already owe a great deal to Rachel, Rosie and Pola (and well… everybody!) for their helpful comments!

Taking part in Camp NaNoWriMo? Comment below!

18 thoughts on “#CampNaNoWriMo July 2016: The depths

  1. Yay! I’m glad you’re participating again. 🙂 I want to add my novel, but the poll is still going on on my blog. So I have to wait a little while. I wish you lots of luck this time around! 🙂

      1. I think July is the easiest month out of all three sessions. Though I’m going on vacation the last week of July this year so I have to finish 22 days instead of the usual 30.

      2. Indeed! 🙂 Good luck to you too! Also, thanks for posting those very interesting competitions (June/July 2016). Not sure I’m up for them – I have tried tailoring writing to competition themes but haven’t quite managed it yet… It probably doesn’t help that I keep putting off dealing with them till the last minute. 😛

      3. Oh, of course! Thank you for reblogging it. 🙂
        I agree. I wanted to submit to at least one contest a month in 2016. I did it for January and February and then stopped. I want to get back into it, but I’ve been so busy working on my novels rather than writing shorts for contests. Maybe someday soon.

      4. Always a pleasure! 🙂

        One contest submission a month? That sounds demanding. And yeah, that is understandable – if I had novels to work on, I would probably do the same!

      5. It is demanding. It’s not as realistic as I thought. Though I do have my Short Story Sunday every week. I thought I could expand on some of those and submit them. But those stories are nowhere near ready to be submitted any place. I didn’t account for the time to be put into it, lol.

      6. Short Story Sundays plus one contest a month plus novels (writing and editing)… That adds up to a lot of hours, hehe!

      7. That it does, lol. I’m hoping over the summer I’ll be able to find some extra time to work on short stories or poetry. Maybe then if the right contest comes along I can already be prepared.

  2. I am writing poetry at 10,000 words for Camp NaNoWriMo and celebrating my birthday July 11. I have a cabin called Cabin Enigma. Do you have a cabin yet? I would like to be NaNo writing buddies with you.

    1. Wow, 10,000 words of poetry! That sounds epic! Happy birthday in advance. 🙂

      Unfortunately, I’ve only just logged in to discover I already have a cabin but I can opt out and try to find yours.

Leave a Reply

