glory: time to #write #prompt

[I took on Rachel’s prompt: “It was the best moment of my life” and this was the gruesome result…I’ve titled it ‘Glory’.]

It was the best moment of my life.

Was.

Past tense.

It lasted about as long as it took the fire to spread.

“Excellent work.” A pat on the back.

Screams erupted everywhere in the night’s darkness, mixing with the crash and thud of things being knocked over as people scurried away from the blaze. Like rats… But we were ready for them; those that escaped the hell-sent flames were soon brought down by other means.

The massacre didn’t last long. After all, they were unarmed. Mostly women and children. I suppose I should be relieved. Proud even, since this was all my idea. A wonderful idea to end it all.

The pungent stench of burning flesh – the aroma of my excellent work – floats into my nostrils.

I did this.

It’s over. Relief seeps into my veins. The fighting is over. In one night. The tension disappears, as if all this never happened.

I want to throw up.

Day breaks, providing an unhindered view of the most glorious sight: our enemies have fallen. Smoke spirals skywards from the ruins.

It’s all over. Isn’t it amazing? Isn’t it glorious? This is how you will be remembered, the man who ended it all. Overnight.

The new day’s beams bounce off hacked-up body parts, scattered among hot piles of ash. These were once mothers, fathers, brothers, sisters, children, lovers.

All come to dust. 

I did this. 

Their blood encrusts my pores, already drying under my fingernails and stiffening my weary muscles. Their lingering souls accuse me. Sleep is henceforth banished.

Be careful what you wish for.

 

5 thoughts on “glory: time to #write #prompt

Leave a Reply

