#CampNaNoWriMo July 2016: status report 1

Well, that’s me signing off my first NaNoWriMo day. I estimated that, in an ideal situation, I can actually finish this challenge 10-20 days early – if Medea will let me, of course! I’m not sure how long the text will end up being… My usual writing pace in full flow is about 250 words in 15 minutes, so approximately 1000 words an hour. If I achieve full flow for 5 hours a day (this is just an estimate, remember!), I’d be at 5000 words/day. 50,000 would then take about 10 days.

It took a bit longer than expected, but I got there in the end! I realised how bad I am with editing while I’m writing. Also, I discovered that for something this long, I can’t write it in a linear fashion (I don’t know if anybody does?).  In the past, if it was a short piece (under 500 words), it made sense to start at the beginning and then write all the way to the end. For longer pieces, my muse doesn’t work like this. Since this morning, my plot has jumped all about the place, from the middle to what I thought was going to be the end, and then back to what I thought was going to be my beginning. Anyone else have this ‘problem’?

Still, it seems to be working. I have yet to figure out who the characters are (aside from Medea, of course), how and why they end up doing what they do, but it seems to be some form of progress…

The trick I used to stay focused and in the writing mood: music. I just plugged myself into a playlist that inspired certain ideas (mainly witch-related chant-like tunes) and started writing.

Today’s result according to the official word count: 5001 words.

I can only hope that tomorrow will be equally – if not more – fruitful…

The quality of the outcome remains to be seen.

Leave a Reply

