#CampNaNoWriMo July 2016: status report 2

God, I thought yesterday’s first 5000 words would have been the steep uphill struggle, but turns out that I was wrong. Today’s 5000 were just plain evil… Yesterday, the first few hours flew by, mainly because I had plenty of ideas, I was well-rested, started at a reasonable time, and there were fewer interruptions. Today, I woke up about half an hour later, which threw the entire schedule out of whack, and it just didn’t flow as easily.

So far, it’s taken a completely different turn to what I thought it was going to end up as. Yesterday, I was convinced this was going to be Medea’s story, a story that exists in a total fantasy world with a few hints of the modern. Today, it started turning into a modern crime-mystery novel with a lot of mythic elements. I have no idea what it will be by tomorrow evening.

Also, I’ve realised I keep writing open-ended cliffhangers and jumping back and forth between time-periods, characters, locations, and ideas. While I took a break this afternoon, I counted out how many different plots I have going on at the moment. I estimated I have about five plots that I plan to link into one. There’s the main Medea plot (which ironically seems to have turned into a side-plot rather than the main thing!) and then four different characters in the modern-day world – each in a different location and different backstory – that ‘have to’ end up in the same place at the same time for the same reason. So far, I have three out of four… kind of.

At the moment, the whole structure of the thing is a mess – I actually wrote half the ending yesterday, in the first two or three hours, so I’m having to work backwards. I decided I wouldn’t read over what I’ve already written (except for reference purposes- e.g. to make sure I keep a character’s eye colour the same and stuff) until I finish this, because I know I will want to fix things. This month is just for getting it out onto the page. Considering I tend to go back and edit while I’m writing, I was surprised I had the discipline not to do that this time around!

On the positive side, I made some progress with the main characters. Exactly because I got stuck at some point, I started trying to figure out a bit of backstory, how they came to be where they are, and so on. I’ll admit, I’m not sure any of what I wrote today is going to be in my next draft, but all the verbiage-vomit on the page today certainly cleared things up for me. I now know where I want to go with it (more or less), although it seems that my characters dive into the inkpot and take control of the quill whenever they want to.

I’m just making things difficult for myself, aren’t I?

Today’s final word count: 10,207 (Words written today: 5,206)

P.S. 5,000 words a day – what was I thinking?

 

