#snow: a short story

[For Greek, scroll down. Not an exact translation]
[Για ελληνικά πηγαίνετε πιο κάτω. Δεν είναι ακριβής μετάφραση]
ENG:
And then, he turned.
It lasted for just a moment, but he saw me. I mean, he really saw me, for what I am. Not in the way we look at each other but don’t really see. No, he looked right at me, then through me, as if he could see my heart beating under all the layers of clothing and skin I wore. I looked back. In his eyes, I found knowledge. Knowledge as old as the Earth herself – something neither I nor anyone else could ever own, sell or buy.
Suddenly, a shockwave rippled through his mighty body. He made no sound in death, not even as he collided with the ground.
I hadn’t even heard the gun go off.
The huntsman’s voice came from somewhere far away, as though it belonged to a parallel reality.
‘Wolves are dangerous, kid. That monster coulda killed you.’
That night, it snowed.
ΕΛ:
Και τότε γύρισε.
Ήταν μόνο μια στιγμή αλλά με είδε. Εννοώ, είδε στ’αλήθεια αυτό που είμαι. Όχι με τον τρόπο που κοιτάμε εμείς χωρίς να μας βλέπουμε. Όχι, με κοίταξε στα μάτια, με διαπέρασε, λες και μπορούσε να δει την καρδιά μου να χτυπάει κάτω από όλα τα στρώματα ρούχων και δέρματος που φορούσα. Τον κοίταξα κι εγώ. Στα μάτια του, κρυβόταν γνώση. Γνώση τόσο παλιά όσο η ίδια η γη – κάτι που ούτε γω ούτε κανείς θα μπορούσε ποτέ να κατακτήσει, να πουλήσει ή να αγοράσει.
Ξαφνικά, τραντάχτηκε σύγκορμος. Δεν έβγαλε άχνα καθώς πέθαινε, ούτε καν όταν συγκρούστηκε το σώμα του με το έδαφος.
Δεν είχα ακούσει καν το όπλο.
Η φωνή του κυνηγού ήρθε από κάπου μακριά, λες και άνηκε σε κάποια άλλη πραγματικότητα.
– Οι λύκοι είναι επικίνδυνοι, μικρέ. Αυτό το τέρας θα μπορούσε να σε είχε σκοτώσει.
Εκείνη τη νύχτα, χιόνισε.
Leave a Reply

