to those that live in the dark

hey.
you.

yeah, you.
in the corner,
dark eyes,

dark soul

–  you.

wait,
my sanity matches yours.

I mean, hello.

I’m sane, I promise.
(a different kind of sane – the kind
that terrifies people 

who can’t navigate storms)

let me
– would you let me? –
take you away
from this sunscorched place
and wrench open the
trapdoor to the
jagged gale of my heart

let’s run away,
laughing and whispering
into bleeding nights
with nothing but stars
for a blanket.

let’s hold our broken skin together
and tattoo over our
thirsty demons,
till no one can tell
we were shattered in the first place.

let me kiss
the scars they’ve left on your soul
while we weep ritual salts
on our rusted
wrought-iron wounds.

Leave a Reply

