some poems about stars

I’ve been writing lots of poems about stars (partly because I’m taking an Archaeoastronomy course on Coursera, giving me ample excuses to love stars even more) so I’ve collected them all here for your perusal.  🙂

shooting star

how many stars fall while we sleep?
how many wishes go unwished?

fall with me
through stardrops into the
dewy sky of our obsidian wandering

let me write your name
in the constellations of
our ignited comet skin

aurora borealis

door broken down,
windows unlocked;

there stands
the topaz galaxy you’d hidden away within.

//you are the starsystem I wander in//

stars that never die

you were my imperishable star
the one that lit my path home

till you dipped below the horizon
not to surface again for the next

thousand years of leaving
me with unbrilliant bodies

to fumble my way forward
in the dark

-I’m going forward but never home-

afraid of the dark

I have always found it difficult
to fear the dark
because that is when
the stars come out.

astronaut

I am condemned to love
her from afar

paying only short trips,
acute doses of visits

though I am ready
to rip out the safety tether

and float towards
her star forever.
stars

fingertips a-shiver,
how can I write this starlight
pulsing through my veins?

falling comet

piercing the sky
I crawl my way back to
the earth, digging a
crater for a bed in this,
my corner of
the night.

//only hellfire can warm me
only hell can save me//

Leave a Reply

